Ever feel like raising money for a mission trip feels like climbing Mt. Everest? If you were a teenager without a job, $200 – $500 to go on a mission trip may seem extremely expensive. If you are a parent of a teenager and your son/daughter comes to you saying “I want to go to summer camp” or “I want to go on a mission trip” and you find out that it cost a couple hundred dollars that you don’t have (because all teenagers know their mom and dad are made of money, right?) stress sets in and you become overwhelmed. Money is tight and it seems to always get tighter and tighter, I get it.

Can I let you in on a little secret? It doesn’t have to be up to you or your child to find the money. Don’t view it as another bill, but an opportunity to let go and let God handle this opportunity especially through prayer. After all, the reality is that it’s really all about Him and He will provide. With that being said, that statement doesn’t exactly mean to sit back and relax either.

Over the few years that I did lead youth group, I would offer fun activities for the teenagers, especially if it involved some kind of spiritual growth for them. It never ceased to amaze me how many kids, and parents too, would come up to me right after an announcement and tell me they don’t have money to participate. It occurred to me that we, as Christians, are so caught up in the financial aspect of events that sometimes we fail to see how important the spiritual growth of a young person is through a certain events. That needs to change in the church today. Money should not be a crutch or a block for young people to experience events that will help them grow in their relationship with Christ.

There is another aspect of this that we all need to look at as well. Fundraising for certain events, summer camps, and mission trips, provides a good idea of what being a missionary is all about. For those students who feel called to ministry or called to the mission field, fundraising provides a key element of what that is all about. Over the next few blog posts I will offer some suggestions, share some websites, and ideas for fundraising and tell some of my stories about going on mission trips and how I was able to raise enough funds to go on mission trips even before I was old enough to have a job.

“Yet he has not left himself without testimony: He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.” – Acts 14:17

