I moved to Las Vegas in December of 2005. When I talked to people about moving out to Vegas, the response was interesting. Some people gave me some weird looks and responses thinking why in the world I would want to live there and other jokingly thought that I would turn into a rebel and get in trouble. It amazed me to find very few people giving encouragement for someone moving to such a city. There was, however, one person who was very encouraging and that was my former youth pastor who I still keep in contact with today. He told me to “shine brighter than all the lights in Vegas”.

Las Vegas has miles and miles of neon lighting and there are thousands, if not millions, of bulbs that light up the Strip. For someone to shine brighter than all the lights in Vegas was a tall order that only God could orchestrate. I was encouraged to make Las Vegas my mission field. I am living proof that God can use a person in a place like Las Vegas. It been wonderful to see churches in the Valley step up and various ministries formed within the past few years. God is definitely working in this city and it is very evident. If you are reading this and ever decide or are currently deciding to move to Vegas or come here to serve, please know that you too can shine brighter than all the lights in Vegas.

 

“The path of the righteous is like the morning sun, shining ever brighter till the full light of day. But the way of the wicked is like deep darkness; they do not know what makes them stumble.My son, pay attention to what I say; turn your ear to my words. Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart; for they are life to those who find them and health to one’s whole body. Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. Keep your mouth free of perversity; keep corrupt talk far from your lips. Let your eyes look straight ahead; fix your gaze directly before you. Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways. Do not turn to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil. Proverbs 4:18-27

