This was the first week of camp for Week of Hope in Las Vegas 2012. There were 30 campers from Utah and Colorado who came to town to serve the Las Vegas vicinity. They stayed at Oasis Baptist Church all week and went out to serve five different non-profit organizations in and around Las Vegas.

This is the second summer I have had the incredible opportunity to set up a Week of Hope camp in Las Vegas. It has been truly rewarding in all aspects of my life and I love when I get positive feedback from campers or the community. One of our organizations that we help out is Family Promise and I recently received an email from the director regarding a young boy who participated in their summer program, Kidz Camp, where we had the opportunity to volunteer with… “One dad called our office and said his young son came home from the day with your volunteers and shouted ‘Daddy, this is the most fun I have had in my whole life’.  He is 7 years old and previously his family lived in shelters and cars.  They are in our supportive housing program.  This program has given childhood back to children and Jesus is smiling….you know he is!  Blessings to you and this ministry.”

Spending a day with Family Promise

What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. – James 2:14-17

