As I returned home from my run up and down the strip, those people who I passed by, those on the skywalk seemed to come back in my mind. During the run it was easy to forget them as there was so much going on around me, as I had other things to focus on. It got me thinking just how bad the homeless population is around Las Vegas. The weather here is perfect, even though it does get a little too warm in the summer. If I was homeless, Las Vegas would appeal to me greatly. If you beg on the Strip you are sure to see many different people each and every day, so it would be hard for them to see you as a regular. With Las Vegas being a tourist city, not just for Americans, but for International travelers as well you are sure to get kind hearted souls to donate to you.

I began looking into how bad the homeless situation is in Las Vegas and Las Vegas ranks in the top 5 for cities with the highest homeless population in 2012. So what are some ways that we can do to help out locally? Let me give you a small list of organizations you can help out:

Las Vegas Rescue Mission

Family Promise

Club Christ

Shade Tree

Catholic Charities of Southern Nevada

Highway to Hope

Broken Chains Outreach

These are just a few of the amazing organziations whose sole purpose is to help those in need, especially the homeless. Ever thought about volunteering at one of these? Give them a call!

“Whoever is kind to the poor lends to the Lord, and he will reward them for what they have done.” – Proverbs 19:17 NIV

 

